Watch: The bizarre LBW dismissal involving Daryl Mitchell

Last Updated: Sat, Feb 09, 2019 12:03 hrs
Daryl Mitchell

The second T20I at Eden Park in Auckland witnessed a historic moment when Rishab Pant hit a boundary in the 19th over of India's innings. As this was a boundary that helped the team record its first-ever T20I win on New Zealand soil. But, before the win was achieved, there was another moment that can be only termed as bizarre.

During the New Zealand's innings, Dary Mitchell was given LBW out in a Krunal Pandya's over despite hotspot showing a clear inside edge on his bat before the ball hit the pads.

While the batsman instantly opted for a DRS review, the third umpire refused to change the on-field umpire's decision, leaving both Mitchell and his captain Kane Williamson in utter shock. Williamson did take up the case with the umpires on the field but the batsman was asked to head back to pavilion as the umpire's call is was the final call.

Watch video here:

Just to be sure that the decision hadn't come out of a technical error, the on-field umpires did have another chat with the third umpire to confirm the decision. After much discussion and a lot of confusion, it was confirmed that the player was indeed out LBW.

Watch: Kiwi captain's plea to reverse decision rejected

Technology in cricket has always been under scrutiny for some reason or the other. This time though, it is a human error that cost Daryl his wicket and made his T20I debut a forgettable one.

More from Sify: