West Indies to play three Tests, five ODIs in India

Last Updated: Sat, Jul 26, 2014 16:56 hrs

West Indies will play three Tests, five ODIs and a T20I in India from October 07th till November 15th. This will be their third tour to India in the last four years. The Tests will be played in Bengaluru, Hyderabad and Ahmedabad. The five ODIs will be played in Kolkata, Vishakhapatnam, Cuttack, Dharamshala and Kochi. The T20I will take place in New Delhi.

West Indies last arrived in India in 2013 for hastily-arranged tour. The series marked the farewell of Sachin Tendulkar as West Indies played two Tests and three ODIs. 

They lost both Tests by an innings as they were swept aside 0-2 while they lost the ODI series 1-2. Their only win in the tour came in the second ODI at Vishakhapatnam. West Indies have not won a Test in India since 1994 and they are currently in the midst of a losing spree in Tests.

West Indies have lost series in New Zealand and also on the return leg at home ever since the series against India. Darren Sammy, who was the skipper on the previous tour to India and in New Zealand, was dropped and he retired from Tests just before the start of the home summer. 

Following Sammy's retirement, Denesh Ramdin was handed the captaincy in the New Zealand series at home but he had a poor start as he lost the Test series 2-1.

West Indies are currently ranked No. 8 in the Test rankings while India are ranked No. 4 in Tests.

More from Sify: