India Post releases stamps on six legendary actresses

Last Updated: Mon, Feb 14, 2011 13:10 hrs

New Delhi, Feb 14 (IANS) A set of six stamps on six legendary actresses of Indian cinema has been released at the world philatelic exhibition here.

The actresses who have been honoured are Meena Kumari, Nutan, Kanan Devi, Devika Rani, Leela Naidu and Savitri Devi. The stamps were released by Minister of State for Communication and Information Technology Gurudas Kamat here Sunday evening.

India Post had earlier honoured actors Madhubala, Nargis, Guru Dutt and Raj Kapoor, singers K.L. Saigal, Mukesh, Kishore Kumar, Mohammad Rafi, Hemant Kumar and Begum Akhtar, and directors Dadasaheb Phalke, Satyajit Ray and Bimal Roy.

Legendary heroines of yesteryears Asha Parekh and Vyjayanthimala Bali graced the occasion and remembered the actresses and work culture of those days.

The minister also released a coffee table book 'Pigeon to Post' by Steve Borgia on Indian postal history on this occasion.