Niti Aayog's Rajiv Kumar to continue 'till further orders'

Last Updated: Tue, Jun 04, 2019 13:35 hrs
Rajiv Kumar, Vice-Chairman of Niti Aayog (Twitter image)

New Delhi: Rajiv Kumar, the Niti Aayog vice chairman whose tenure is co-terminus with that of the Modi government, will continue "till further orders", sources said.

On May 24, the Union cabinet of the previous government resigned after the 17th Lok Sabha election. The tenure of the 16th Lok Sabha ended on June 3 (Monday).

Rajiv Kumar's term ends this month. Official sources said Kumar is slated to continue "till further orders".

Another source said so far there has been no decision on Kumar's continuation or government would start looking for new names for the Aayog's V-C's post. But he is to continue in the interim period till "further orders".

Kumar had succeeded Arvind Panagariya, who abruptly resigned as vice-chairman of NITI Aayog to resume teaching in the US.