Directors Guild of America nominates Cooper, Cuaron for top honours

Last Updated: Wed, Jan 09, 2019 13:00 hrs

[USA], Jan 09 (ANI): Alfonso Cuaron, Bradley Cooper, Spike Lee, Adam McKay and Peter Farrelly have been nominated by the Directors Guild of America for its top feature film award.

Apart from this nomination, Bradley Copper has also been nominated by the DGA for its first-time director award for 'A Star is Born' along with Bo Burnham for 'Eighth Grade', Carlos Lopez Estrada for 'Blindspotting', Matthew Heineman for 'A Private War', and Boots Riley for 'Sorry to Bother You'.

The last time Cuaron won the DGA and Academy Award was five years ago when he directed 'Gravity'. It is the first DGA nomination for Copper, Farrelly and Lee. On the other hand, this is McKay's third DGA nomination, three years after he won for 'The Big Shot'.

DGA'a nomination announcement was no surprise after Cuaron won the Golden Globe for directing "Roma" over the same four - Cooper, Farrelly, Lee, and McKay. Cuaron also won the director award from the New York Film Critics Circle.

However, contenders overlooked for a DGA nod include Barry Jenkins for "If Beale Street Could Talk," Ryan Coogler for "Black Panther," Damien Chazelle for "First Man," Debra Granik for "Leave No Trace," Yorgos Lanthimos for "The Favourite" and Marielle Heller for "Can You Ever Forgive Me?"

The DGA is usually considered to be one of the top indicators of Oscar glory, with all but seven of the DGA winners since 1948 going on to win top honours at the Academy Awards.

The DGA winners will be announced at the 71st Annual DGA Awards on Feb. 2, following voting by its 17,000 members. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will reveal Oscar nominations on Jan. 22. (ANI)