Kerala State Film Awards announced

Last Updated: Mon, Jun 08, 2009 10:43 hrs

The 2008 Kerala State Film Awards were announced in Thiruvananthapuram. State Minister for Education and Culture M.A. Baby announced the awards at a press meet along with Jury Chairman Girish Kasaravalli.

A total of 27 films were considered for the awards. Orupennum Randanum, a film based on four short stories of famous writer Thakazhi, produced and directed by well-known film maker Adoor Gopalakrishnan, was adjudged as the best feature film.

Lal got the best actor award for his role as a policeman in Thalapavu, a film based on naxalites and Priyanka is the Best Actress for her role in Vilapangalkapuram, a film about a girl's sufferings at the hands of religious extremists.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan also got the best director and script writer awards for the same film. Bhoomimalayalam directed by T.V. Chandran bagged the award for second best film.

Shanker Mahadevan was selected as best playback singer for his song in Madambi, while Manjeri got the best playback singer (female) award. Aryadan Shoukat was selected as best story writer for his work in Vilapangalkapuram.

Best lyricist was O.N.V. Kurup and best music director is M. Jayachandran (Madambi) The other important winners are: Best Comedian : Mamukooya (Innathe chinthavishayam), Best Child Artist: Nivetha Thomas (Veruthe Oru Bharya), Best Story Writer: Aryadan Shoukath (Vilapangalkkapuram), Best Cinemotographer: M J Radhakrishnan (Bioscopte).