State Awards for Puneet, Upendra

Last Updated: Wed, Apr 11, 2012 05:41 hrs

Puneet Raj Kumar and director Upendra won the Best actor and the Best director awards respectively in the Karnataka state awards that was announced on Thursday evening by Karantaka CM D.V.Sadananda Gowda, for the year 2010-11.

Ms. Bharathi Vishnuvardhan headed the jury which announced Upendra directed Super as the Best film and chose Puneet Raj Kumar as the Best actor for his performance in Prithvi. The second best film award went to Bhagavathy Kaadu directed by Shivarudhraiah.

The third Best Film Award went to Shabdhamani produced and directed by Renu Kumar. Actor-producer-director S.Shivaram was chosen for the prestigious Dr. Raj Kumar award while Ambareesh was chosen for Dr. Vishnuvardhan award. Veteran film director Bhargava won the prestigious Puttanna Kanagal award.

Upendra who won the best director was about to leave for Jordan for the shoot of Kataari Veera Sura Sundaraangi, when he received the news. He returned to directing films after a long gap of ten years with Super. The film`s Telugu and Tamil dubbed versions also won critical acclaim.

"I am extremely happy that Super which almost took two years of my time won the award. This award adds up some strength to my creative process. This has certainly boosted my confidence and I may direct films more frequently", said Upendra.

Puneet Raj Kumar said that he was very happy to hear that his performance has won appreciation from the jury also.

"It was a very difficult character to play. Yes, I agree some of my fans did not appreciate the film`s content. The film combined aesthetics, artistic and commercial values. I am happy for the award and would like to thank Jacob Thomas for writing such a good script for the film", said Puneet. 

Ramesh Bhat who won the Best Supporting Actor Award for his film Uyyale said that though he acted in many films in important roles, he found absolute satisfaction in the way he was presented in Uyyale. "Now, I am happy that my hard work has been recognised with this award", says Ramesh Bhat.

Journalist turned film director Sadashiva Shenoy whose film Prarthane won the special jury award said that he was excited to hear about the award in a press meet he had gone to cover.  "I narrated the plight of Kannada schools which lacked the infrastructural support for maintenance".

"It won critical acclaim. Now, I am overwhelmed with this award", said Sadashiva Shenoy. Ms. Vijayalakshmi Singh who won the Best supporting actress for her performance in Veera Parampare said that entire credit for moulding her character goes to director S.Narayan.  

"I remember Narayan telling me many a time that I will get an award if I put in my best efforts to portray the character. I tried my best and Narayan helped me", said Vijayalakshmi Singh.

Guru Kiran who won the first state award for the Best Music Director for Mylari said that he never imagined that he will get the state award. "I entered the film industry fourteen years ago and this is my first award. I thank the jury headed by Ms. Bharathi Vishnuvardhan for selecting me this time", said Guru Kiran.
Producer Rockline Venkatesh who produced the Best Film Super said that he will give the entire credit to the film`s director and lead actor Upendra.