All Karnataka Congress ministers quit

Last Updated: Mon, Jul 08, 2019 13:17 hrs

Bengaluru: In a bid to save the year-old coalition government, Karnataka Congress ministers including Deputy CM G Parameshwara have resigned. Parameshwara had earlier said that if the party asks them, all of them would resign to accommodate rebel MLAs.

'HD Kumaraswamy should resign immediately': BJP leader Shobha Karandlaje

Karnataka Deputy CM G Parameshwara and all other Congress ministers have quit to accommodate disgruntled MLAs.

In the 34-member cabinet, 22 are Congress Ministers, including Parameshwara, while 10 belong to the coalition ally Janata Dal-Secular, including Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy and one from the regional outfit KPJP and an Independent.

Speaker to consider resignations on Tuesday

Speaker Ramesh Kumar has said that he would look at the latest batch of resignations only after he returns to work on Tuesday

Independent MLA Nagesh resigns

In his resignation, Nagesh expressed willingness to extend support to the BJP in case it stakes claim to form the government in Karnataka.

"I have already withdrawn my support to the government headed by Shri HD Kumaraswamy. I would further by this letter unequivocally state that I would extend my support to the government of Bharatiya Janata Party if called for by your good self," he says.

BJP plans for an emergency meet

With all the major developments, a major cabinet reshuffle is now being expected.