Nawaz Sharif approves three-member bench for Musharraf's treason case

Last Updated: Wed, Nov 20, 2013 05:46 hrs

Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has approved the names of three judges, including a female judge, for the special court that will conduct trial of former President General Pervez Musharraf for high treason.

The Supreme Court had sent the names of the judges from different high courts to Law Secretary Barrister Zafarullah Khan and suggested the government to form a three-member bench for the special tribunal and select the most senior judge as the head, Dawn News reports.

According to the report, Nawaz approved the names of Justice Faisal Arab of the Sindh High Court (SHC) as the head, Justice Tahira Safdar of the Balochistan High Court (BHC) and Justice Yawar Ali of the Lahore High Court (LHC) in the three-member bench.

The federal government announced that Musharraf will be tried under Article 6 of the Constitution for high treason.

The special court enjoys exclusive jurisdiction and no other court could interfere in its trial, the report added. (ANI)