PM Modi seeks re-election from Varanasi, Amit Shah goes to Gandhinagar

Last Updated: Thu, Mar 21, 2019 22:01 hrs

[India], Mar 21 (ANI): Prime Minister Narendra Modi will seek re-election from Varanasi in the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, which he won with a huge margin of votes in 2014 Lok Sabha polls, while BJP president Amit Shah will try his luck from Gandhinagar, currently held by party veteran LK Advani.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari will seek election from Nagpur, while Home Minister Rajnath Singh from Lucknow. Actor Hema Malini has been able to get re-fielded from Mathura Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh. Union Minister Smriti Irani will contest from Amethi, the seat currently held by Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

The BJP on Thursday evening released the list of 182 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, which start from April 11 in seven phases, concluding on May 19. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Talking to media persons after the meeting of Central Election Committee (CEC), Union Minister JP Nadda said: "Subhash Bhamre will contest from Dhule, Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur, both ministers, and Poonam Mahajan from Mumbai North Central."

Nadda said that Khalid Jehangir will contest from Srinagar, Jugal Kishore from Jammu, Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh from Udhampur, and Sofi Yousuf from Anantnag, all seats in Jammu and Kashmir. Union Minister VK Singh will contest from Ghaziabad, and Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao in Uttar Pradesh."