Yeddyurappa set to be Karnataka CM for 4th time

Last Updated: Wed, Jul 24, 2019 10:48 hrs

Bengaluru: The exit of Congress-Janata-Dal-Secular coalition government in Karnataka has paved way for the Bharatiya Janata Party into power corridors of the state.

Following this win its state unit president BS Yeddyurappa is likely to stake claim to form the government, if accomplished, it would be his fourth stint as chief minister of the state.

76-year-old Yeddyurappa first took over as the chief minister of Karnataka in 2007, but could hold on to the post for mere seven days after the JD-S withdrew support and President's rule was imposed in the state.

He again made way to the coveted post in 2008 but again owing to corruption charges failed to complete a full term.

During his second term, he held the post from May 2008 to July 2011. He had to resign following the accusations of corruption charges in illegal land deregulation notification scam.

Thereafter in 2012, he formed a new party "Karnataka Praja Paksha" but rejoined the BJP before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections in which he got elected from Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2018, the BJP veteran again jostled his way to the top post in the state but could not rule the state more than a week as his party failed to garner majority.

Right after the defeat of the Congress-JD-S government in the trust vote in the Assembly on Tuesday, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy proceeded to the Raj Bhavan and submitted his resignation to the Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Vala accepted Kumaraswamy's resignation and asked him to continue as the caretaker chief minister till the new government takes over.