Can India sign off with another series win in Australia?

Last Updated: Fri, Jan 11, 2019 16:47 hrs
Aus vs Ind odi Series

After the historic Test series, it is now time for the limited-overs format to take over in Australia. India finally won their first-ever Test series Down Under and now it is time for the men-in-blue to replicate that success with the white ball.

Here is a fact that should surprise a lot. India and Australia have just played one bilateral series Down Under till now. That was in January 2016 - a 5-match series won 4-1 by the hosts.

Unlike the Test teams of the past, the ODI teams have had good success Down Under. Some of the most memorable moments include winning the Benson & Hedges World Championship of Cricket in 1985 and the emphatic triumph in the tri-series in 2008..

When it comes to bilateral ODI series, the two teams have met nine teams with India winning four of them. Australia have the edge with five series wins having triumphed in the first four of the five series played between the two nations. Since 2010, it is India that have triumphed on more occasions as the below table shows.

Head-to-Head Record in Bilateral Series

Venue Matches Result Season
India 5 AUS won 3-0 1984/85
India 6 IND won 3-2 1986/87
India 5 AUS won 3-2 2000/01
India 7 AUS won 4-2 2007/08
India 6 AUS won 4-2 2009/10
India 1 IND won 1-0 2010/11
India 6 IND won 3-2 2013/14
Australia 5 AUS won 4-1 2015/16
India 5 IND won 4-1 2017/18

India have had the better results in recent times and on basis of form, team and experience, it should not be a surprise if the Indian team caps off the Australian tour with another series win.