India lose to Korea in Azlan Shah final

Last Updated: Sun, Mar 31, 2019 16:49 hrs
India lose to Korea

Korea beat India 4-2 in the penalty shoot-out to lift the Azlan Shah Cup hockey title at Ipoh, Malaysia. This, after the five-time champions India conceded an equaliser in the final quarter to end at 1-1 after regulation time in the summit clash.

Going into the title clash, world no. 5 India were clear favourites to lift their sixth title against the 17th ranked Koreans.

The Indians started in the best possible manner, taking the lead early through Simranjeet Singh’s field strike in the ninth minute.

Korea’s equaliser came in the 47th minute when they were awarded a penalty stroke. The Indians went for the video referral but the penalty decision stayed and Jang Jong Hyun made no mistake in drawing parity for his side.

Two minutes from the hooter, India earned a penalty corner but failed to convert it as the match went into shoot-out.

In the shoot-out, the Indians missed their first, fourth and fifth attempts and converted just two. For India, Mandeep Singh, Sumit Kumar Junior and Sumit missed from the one-on-one penalty shoot-out situation, while experienced Birendra Lakra and Varun Kumar, converted their chances.

The Koreans just missed their third strike to win the thrilling contest 4-2 and lift the crown for the third time in the history of the invitational tournament.