Mumbai Indians clinch 4th IPL title after securing one-run victory over CSK

Last Updated: Thu, Jun 06, 2019 23:31 hrs

[India], May 12 (ANI): Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by one run in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final here on Sunday to secure their fourth IPL title, the most number of titles than any other franchise.

Chasing a modest target of 150 runs, Chennai had an average start as both the openers, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson, kept the scoreboard running. Du Plessis came out strikingly in the fourth over and hammered two fours and a six to Krunal Pandya. However, Du Plessis gave away his wicket in the same over which ended his 26 runs inning off just 13 balls.

Raina then joined Watson and both played cautiously till the 10th over, when Raina got out after scoring eight runs. Ambati Rayudu (1) then came out to bat but he too was sent back to the pavilion in the next over by Jasprit Bumrah.

Skipper Dhoni then took the field but in the 12th over Dhoni (2) got run out, owing to a direct hit by Ishan Kishan and the skipper fell an inch short. Dhoni's dismissal brought Dwayne Bravo on the field.

Shane Watson, who scored his 19th IPL century, appeared to be so lucky that he was dropped thrice in the game, once by Lasith Malinga and twice by Rahul Chahar. Watson then made the most out of Krunal Pandya's 18th over as he walloped three consecutive sixes.

In the next over, Bumrah provided his side with some relief as he got hold of Dwayne Bravo (15) and ended their 51-run stand. Ravindra Jadeja then took the field but Bumrah continued to bowl a superb spell but because of De Kock's mistake, Chennai got four runs added to their scoreboard as he let go the ball after Jadeja missed the shot.

In the last over, Shane Watson got run out which ended his impeccable knock of 80 runs off 59 balls. Shardul Thakur then came out to bat and smashed the ball for two which brought the game to a point where Chennai needed two runs off just one delivery.

But Malinga, who was the most expensive bowler from Mumbai's side as he conceded 49 runs, got the wicket of Shardul Thakur which handed over Mumbai their fourth IPL title.

Earlier, Mumbai Indians, who opted to bat first after winning the toss, had a decent start as the openers, Quinton de Kock and skipper Rohit Sharma, played steadily.

De Kock came out furiously on Deepak Chahar in the third over as he hammered him three sixes owing to which, Chahar conceded 20 runs in the over.

Shardul Thakur provided Chennai with their first breakthrough in the form of De Kock (29) which ended his 45-run partnership with the skipper. However, Sharma (15) too gave away his wicket in the next over after MSD pulled off a diving catch off Chahar's delivery.

Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan then took the field and added 37 runs on the scoreboard before Imran Tahir, who was brought into the attack in the 12th over, hold of Yadav (15).

Krunal Pandya (7) then came out to bat but he too was sent back to the pavilion in the very next over bowled by Shardul Thakur. Kieron Pollard then joined Kishan but their 12-run partnership was also halted by Tahir in the 15th over.

Consequently, half of the Mumbai's batting line-up was sent back to the pavilion when they were at 102 runs after the conclusion of 15 overs. Hardik Pandya then came out to bat and both, Hardik Pandya and Pollard took control of the inning.

Both struck regular boundaries and sixes with the help of which they added 39 runs to the scoreboard. However, in the 19th over Chennai made a brilliant comeback as Deepak Chahar got the two wickets, Hardik Pandya (16) and Rahul Chahar (0).

Mitchell McClenaghan then joined the onfield batter, Pollard. In the last over, Dwayne Bravo bowled three dot balls, therefore, a visibly frustrated Pollard hit the ball and tried to get a double to get back on strike which got McClenaghan run out. Later, Pollard smashed two boundaries off the last two balls and his unbeaten 41 runs helped Mumbai post a modest total of 149 runs.

Mumbai Indians (Kieron Pollard 41*, Quinton de Kock 29, Deepak Chahar 3-26) defeated Chennai Super Kings (Shane Watson 80, Faf du Plessis 26, Jasprit Bumrah 2-14) by one run. (ANI)