Row in Ranji Trophy match: Shubman Gill 'abuses' umpire after being given out

Last Updated: Fri, Jan 3rd, 2020, 20:19:28hrs
Row in Ranji Trophy match: Shubman Gill 'abuses' umpire after being given out

Mohali: A huge controversy erupted on Friday when Punjab opener Shubman Gill allegedly "abused" the umpire after being given out and refused to walk off the field during their Ranji Trophy game against Delhi at the I.S. Bindra Stadium.

Gill argued with the umpire and refused to leave the field after he was given out caught behind. The match referee then intervened and there was ten minutes of stoppage in the play.

"The umpire had given him out but he refused to leave the field and argued with umpire. Then umpire changed his decision and the match referee also stepped on to the field to sort out things. It took around 10 minutes," a DDCA source told ANI.

A Times of India journalist narrated the series of events in a thread on his Twitter handle in which he claimed that Shubman, unimpressed with the decision of the on-field umpire, didn't move anywhere and remained at his crease.

The journalist further quoted Delhi vice-captain Nitish Rana as saying that Shubman walked down to umpire Mohamad Rafi and abused him. Following which, the umpire overturned his decision.

Media reports suggested that the decision to overturn the wicket did not go down well with the Delhi team as they walked off the field and play was halted. Match Referee P. Ranganathan had to intervene and after a brief stoppage, play was resumed.

"There was no walkout by the team and the players stayed on the ground itself," the source added.

The 20-year-old Punjab opener was eventually dismissed by Simarjeet Singh. Shubman, after scoring 23 runs of 41 balls, was caught by Anuj Rawat.

In the Elite Group A and B standings, Punjab are currently at the top with 17 points whereas Delhi are at the 11th spot with seven points.

Gill will be leading India 'A' in the two tour matches and three one-day games in New Zealand and is also a part of the India 'A' squad for two four-day games, before Team India play five T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests beginning January 24.