Stat Alert: Team India sign-off every year with win since 2015

Source :SIFY
Author :SIFY
Last Updated: Mon, Dec 23rd, 2019, 03:14:15hrs
Stat Alert: Team India sign-off every year with win since 2015

The Indian cricket team defeated West Indies by four wickets in their final match of 2019, an ODI clash at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack after being handed a target of 316 runs.

Skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to field. The visitors were able to post an imposing total of 315, on the back of a stellar performance from Nicholas Pooran (89) and Kieron Pollard (74*). In return, spectacular knocks from skipper Virat Kohli (85), openers Rohit Sharma (63) and KL Rahul (77) helped the hosts stay in contention. However, Kohli's dismissal during the crucial death overs put the hosts under pressure.

In such a tense scenario, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and Shardul Thakur stepped up to get the hosts get across the finishing line, with India ending the calendar year on a winning note.

However, this triumph in the final match of the year is no isolated feat with the Indian team emerging victorious in such clashes since 2015. The Indian team trumped South Africa by 337 runs in the final Test of their four-match series at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi held between December 3-7, 2015.

They further followed it up with an innings win against England in the final Test of the five-match series at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai between December 16-20, 2016. This dominance continued in 2017, as they defeated Sri Lanka in a T20I by five wickets on 24th December at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The trend was further maintained in 2018 as Team India trumped England by 137 runs in a Test clash at the Melbourne Cricket Ground between December 26-29, 2018.

Team India have emerged victorious by a margin of 2-1 in the three-match ODI series against the West Indies, following their triumph at Cuttack. They will next take on Sri Lanka in a limited over series comprising of 3 T20Is between January 05-10.