Team India become 1st side to win four consecutive Tests by innings margin

Last Updated: Sun, Nov 24, 2019 14:24 hrs
Team India

Team India led by Virat Kohli scripted history on Sunday after becoming the first side to win four consecutive Tests by an innings margin. The hosts defeated Bangladesh by an innings and 46 runs in the second Test of the two-match Test series at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata to record this achievement.

Kohli-led India had earlier defeated the visitors by an innings and 130 runs in the first Test at Indore as well, which makes it a series whitewash for the ultra-dominant hosts. This streak was further accompanied by victory in the previous two Tests against South Africa by an innings and 137 runs, 202 runs held at Pune and Ranchi. 

The hosts ensured a dominant performance on Day 3 of the second Test by wrapping up the wagging tail as soon as possible. Umesh Yadav was the highest wicket-taker in the Indian bowling attack in the second innings with five wickets with Ishant Sharma closely trailing him having picked four wickets.