Team India squad for South Africa ODI and T20 series: S Aravind, Gurkeerat named

Last Updated: Sun, Sep 20, 2015 14:45 hrs

Bengaluru: The national selectors have named all-rounder Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Sreenath Aravind in the squad for the upcoming limited overs series against South Africa to be led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

India vs South Africa 

Young Punjab all-rounder Gurkeerat earned his maiden call-up into the Indian ODI team while Karnataka left-arm seamer Aravind was a surprise inclusion in the T20 squad picked by the selectors for the limited overs leg against South Africa.

The Sandeep Patil-led selection committee announced the teams for the three T20s and the first three One day Internationals against the Proteas starting October 2 at Dharamsala.

Limited overs captain Dhoni is back at the helm while senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was retained in the T20 squad for his consistent show during the tour of Zimbabwe.

However, left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja was once again ignored as the selectors decided to persist with young Axar Patel.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra's good show against Sri Lanka was also rewarded as he found a place in both the squads.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan, recuperating from a hand fracture he suffered during the first Test against Sri Lanka last month, was also included in both the squads.

After being rested for the Zimbabwe tour, seniors such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin and Suresh Raina were automatic selections in both squads and so were the likes of Ambati Rayudu and Mohit Sharma.

While Umesh Yadav has been included in the ODI squad, Varun Aaron was not considered for selection in any of the squads.


T20Is: MS Dhoni (captain and wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra, S Aravind.

First three ODIs: MS Dhoni (captain and wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav.