Djokovic disqualified after hitting line official with ball
World No.1 Novak Djokovic was disqualified in the US Open fourth round match against Pablo Carreno Busta after accidentally hitting a line umpire with a ball.
After Carreno Busta broke to lead 6-5 in the first set on Sunday, Djokovic angrily hit a ball that made contact with a lineswoman. Following an extended discussion between Djokovic and tournament officials, the match was ended.
"In accordance with the Grand Slam rulebook, following his actions of intentionally hitting a ball dangerously or recklessly within the court or hitting a ball with negligent disregard of the consequences, the US Open tournament referee defaulted Novak Djokovic from the 2020 US Open," the USTA said in an official statement.
The USTA said Djokovic would lose all the ranking points earned from the event and be fined $250,000 -- his prize money for reaching round four.
Source: Sify with Agency Inputs