Watch: Did Dhoni signal for DRS after 10 seconds or at the nick of time?

Last Updated: Fri, Apr 12, 2019 02:25 hrs
Did Dhoni signal for DRS after 10 seconds or at the nick of time?

Chennai Super Kings pacer Deepak Chahar had to convince his skipper MS Dhoni to go for the DRS review for a LBW appeal against Rajasthan Royals captain Ajinkya Rahane in the third over of Match 25 of the Indian Premier League at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium.

It was a length ball angling into the batsman. Rahane took a few steps ahead and then looked to flick which he missed and gets hit on the pads.

When the umpire shook his head, Dhoni eventually went for it and signalled for DRS and replays gave it three reds. Rahane was given the marching orders cutting short the exciting start for Rajasthan.

While all the credit has to go to Chahar as he was the one who was adamant to take the review, there was a raging debate on social media as to whether Dhoni signalled for DRS after the stipulated 10 seconds.

The official IPL twitter handle tweeted 'Dhoni's nick of time DRS call', but there are many who feel the CSK skipper didn't give the signal before 10 seconds.

It was no ordinary moment. Rahane was dismissed for 14 but more importantly, it ended an aggressive start to Rajasthan's innings. Rahane, along with Buttler, had added 31 runs in just 2.5 overs.

It was the best possible start for the hosts but sadly, Dhoni's somewhat dodgy review signal started a collapse that saw the hosts lose the next five wickets with less than a hundred on the board.

Rajasthan would eventually score 151/7, a total that Chennai chased with 4 wickets in hand for their sixth win of the season.

The journey to MS Dhoni's 100th win as IPL captain at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur started on a note that many would call lucky.