Watch: Vidarbha players celebrate Ranji triumph

Last Updated: Thu, Feb 07, 2019 12:48 hrs
Vidarbha win Ranji Trophy

Vidarbha have retained the Ranji title after beating Saurashtra by 78 runs on the fifth and final day in Nagpur on Friday.

Saurashtra, chasing 206 for an outright win, were bundled out for 127 with Vishwaraj Jadeja top-scoring with 52. Left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate, who took 5/98 in Saurashtra's first innings, was once again the star with the ball for Vidarbha in the second essay as well, picking up six wickets for 59 runs.

This is Sarwate's maiden ten-wicket haul in first-class cricket. Apart from Sarwate, Off-spinner Akshay Wakhare also recorded figures of 3/37.

In what can be termed as a low-scoring final, Vidarbha scored 312 and 200, while Saurashtra managed 307 in their first innings.

Even though they were defending a low target of 206, Vidarbha had put themselves into a very strong position at the end of play on day four by reducing Saurashtra to 58/5.

On the final day, in 30.4 overs, Vidarbha knocked out the remaining five wickets to emerge champions. Saurashtra lower order showed a lot of fight on the last day, with Kamlesh Makvana (45-ball 14) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (56-ball 17) trying their best to delay the inevitable.

But, in the end, fall of regular wickets meant that Vidarbha became the first team since Karnataka in the 2014-15 season to have retained the Ranji title.